Rebuilt one headlight

A long time ago I got some brand new Bosch headlights from a friend. Problem is, I have Hella headlights on my car, and Bosch headlights was without the vacuum height adjustment. So I put them on the shelf instead of mounting them on the car.

Yesterday, another friend sold me a old and beat up bosch headlight with a yellow reflector in it for the fog light.

Not that easy to spot in the picture, but the plastic was more brown than grey, and the glass is very worn. However, I only need the reflector and the mechanism for the vacuum adjustment. Here you can see the fog light reflector.

The frame around the headlight needs to be removed to gain access to all the screws. This one is from the new Bosch lamp.

Here I have changed the reflector for the fog light over, and installed the vacuum adjustment.

The botton left plastic arm on this picture was missing from the reflector in the new headlight. A difference in design due to the missing vacuum adjustment.

My new reflector.

This was easy to remedy. Just drill out the rivets, transfer the arm to the new reflector and use new rivets to fasten it.

One interesting detail is that the hatch that you open to change bulbs on the headlight is different between headlights with and without vacuum adjustment. So I had to use the old hatch on my headlights.

This is the finished headlight. I just need to order a new glass since the one for this headlight was broken.

This entry was posted in 1983 Mercedes-Benz 280TE and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment